close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Scent, Style, and Culture

Registration now closed

Scent, Style, and Culture

Five Iconic Fragrances of the 20th Century

2021-03-30 19:00:00 2021-03-30 20:00:00 America/New_York Scent, Style, and Culture Jessica Murphy will discuss five iconic women's fragrances, from Paris to New York, from the Roaring Twenties to World War II and beyond, and share the stories and inspirations behind these classics. Explore From Home - Virtual Program

Tuesday, March 30
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2021-03-30 19:00:00 2021-03-30 20:00:00 America/New_York Scent, Style, and Culture Jessica Murphy will discuss five iconic women's fragrances, from Paris to New York, from the Roaring Twenties to World War II and beyond, and share the stories and inspirations behind these classics. Explore From Home - Virtual Program

Explore From Home

Virtual Program

Jessica Murphy will discuss five iconic women's fragrances, from Paris to New York, from the Roaring Twenties to World War II and beyond, and share the stories and inspirations behind these classics.

* Use this link to join our virtual program: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87189560325?pwd=NHY2TXRuUGVFTzFicWI1aGhWNmZVQT09

Meeting ID: 871 8956 0325
Passcode: 052500

Just like a work of visual art, fashion, or architecture, a perfume can capture a time and place. Why, for example, was Molinard Habanita the perfect scented accessory for a flapper of the 1920s? And how did Christian Dior Diorissimo complement Dior’s fashion designs and their postwar ideals of femininity? This illustrated lecture will encourage us to think about fragrance both as a universal experience and as a specific cultural phenomenon of the 20th century.

Presented by Jessica Murphy, Ph.D., Museum Professional & Art Historian.

Jessica Murphy holds a Ph.D. in Art History and has worked in the museum field for more than a decade, at institutions including the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. In 2015 she joined the staff of the Brooklyn Museum, where she is currently Manager of Visitor Engagement. She’s also fascinated by perfume and she shares her combined interests in art, fragrance, and cultural history in classes at the Brooklyn Brainery, Think Olio, and other venues. She’s a contributing writer at the leading perfume blog Now Smell This and she blogs independently as Perfume Professor.

At the conclusion of the program please feel free to take a brief online survey here:
https://www.projectoutcome.org/responses/52460

* Virtual programs work best with the current version of the browsers listed below:

AGE GROUP: | Adult |

EVENT TYPE: | Lecture | History |

TAGS: | |

Explore From Home


Hours
Mon, Jan 30 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jan 31 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 01 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 02 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Feb 03 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 04 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 05 Closed

About the branch

Upcoming events

Tue, Feb 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Thu, Feb 09, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Mon, Feb 13, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Virtual AS 1

Tue, Feb 14, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Wed, Feb 15, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Thu, Feb 16, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Tue, Feb 21, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Wed, Feb 22, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Thu, Feb 23, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Wed, Mar 01, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Thu, Mar 02, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Virtual AS 1

Mon, Mar 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual AS 1