Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Evening Book Discussion

"Hang the Moon" by Jeannette Walls

2024-03-11 18:00:00 2024-03-11 19:00:00 America/New_York Evening Book Discussion "Hang the Moon" by Jeannette Walls. Discussion moderated by Library Assistant, Jennifer McClear. Manville branch -

Monday, March 11
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-03-11 18:00:00 2024-03-11 19:00:00 America/New_York Evening Book Discussion "Hang the Moon" by Jeannette Walls. Discussion moderated by Library Assistant, Jennifer McClear. Manville branch -

"Hang the Moon" by Jeannette Walls. Discussion moderated by Library Assistant, Jennifer McClear.

"Sallie Kincaid is the daughter of the biggest man in a small town, the charismatic Duke Kincaid. Born at the turn of the 20th century into a life of comfort and privilege, Sallie remembers little about her mother who died in a violent argument with the Duke. By the time she is just eight years old, the Duke has remarried and had a son, Eddie. While Sallie is her father’s daughter, sharp-witted and resourceful, Eddie is his mother’s son, timid and cerebral. When Sallie tries to teach young Eddie to be more like their father, her daredevil coaching leads to an accident, and Sallie is cast out. Nine years later, she returns, determined to reclaim her place in the family. That’s a lot more complicated than Sallie expected, and she enters a world of conflict and lawlessness. Sallie confronts the secrets and scandals that hide in the shadows of the Big House, navigates the factions in the family and town, and finally comes into her own as a bold, sometimes reckless bootlegger."

New book discussion participants are always welcome.

AGE GROUP: | Adult |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Discussion |

TAGS: | #reading | #bookdiscussion | #Book Discussion | #book club |

Manville branch

manville@sclibnj.org
Phone: 908-458-8425

Hours
Mon, Apr 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Apr 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Apr 10 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Apr 11 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Apr 12 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Apr 13 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Apr 14 Closed

Upcoming events

Sat, Apr 13, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Children's Area

Sat, Apr 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Quiet Room
Registration is now closed

Mon, Apr 15, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Mon, Apr 15, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Adult Media Area

Tue, Apr 16, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Community Room

Tue, Apr 16, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Wed, Apr 17, 10:30am - 12:30pm
History Room

Wed, Apr 17, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Apr 17, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Apr 17, 6:00pm - 7:15pm
YA area

Thu, Apr 18, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Adult Media Area

Thu, Apr 18, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Thu, Apr 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Sat, Apr 20, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room
This event is full

Sat, Apr 20, 10:30am - 12:30pm
History Room

Sat, Apr 20, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Children's Area

Mon, Apr 22, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Mon, Apr 22, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Apr 23, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Wed, Apr 24, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Apr 24, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Community Room
This event is full

Wed, Apr 24, 6:00pm - 7:15pm
YA area

Thu, Apr 25, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Adult Media Area

Thu, Apr 25, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Thu, Apr 25, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Sat, Apr 27, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Children's Area

Sat, Apr 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Apr 29, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Mon, Apr 29, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Adult Media Area

Mon, Apr 29, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Children's Area

Tue, Apr 30, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Community Room

Tue, Apr 30, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Wed, May 01, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, May 01, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Community Room

Thu, May 02, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Adult Media Area

Thu, May 02, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Thu, May 02, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Sat, May 04, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Children's Area

Mon, May 06, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Mon, May 06, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Adult Media Area

Tue, May 07, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Community Room

Tue, May 07, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Wed, May 08, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, May 08, 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Rescheduled
Wed, May 08, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
New date Wednesday, May 22, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Thu, May 09, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Adult Media Area

Thu, May 09, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Thu, May 09, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Fri, May 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room
This event is full

Fri, May 10, 3:15pm - 5:15pm
Community Room

Sat, May 11, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Children's Area

Mon, May 13, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Mon, May 13, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Mon, May 13, 5:00pm - 5:30pm
Community Room

Mon, May 13, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
History Room