close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Meet P.T. Barnum

The Master Showman

2018-06-14 11:00:00 2018-06-14 13:00:00 America/New_York Meet P.T. Barnum P.T. Barnum, portrayed by actor Neill Hartley, was the quintessential American entertainer, who won and lost fortunes giving the people what he thought they wanted: the “Greatest Show on Earth.” Manville branch

Thursday, June 14
11:00am - 1:00pm

Add to Calendar 2018-06-14 11:00:00 2018-06-14 13:00:00 America/New_York Meet P.T. Barnum P.T. Barnum, portrayed by actor Neill Hartley, was the quintessential American entertainer, who won and lost fortunes giving the people what he thought they wanted: the “Greatest Show on Earth.” Manville branch

Manville branch

Community Room

P.T. Barnum, portrayed by actor Neill Hartley, was the quintessential American entertainer, who won and lost fortunes giving the people what he thought they wanted: the “Greatest Show on Earth.”

Bringing both high and low culture to American audiences all-too-eager to be fooled, Phineas Taylor Barnum considered himself a showman first and foremost. He was determined to make money for himself, and was also generous to those working for him as part of the “Greatest Show on Earth.” Actor Neill Hartley, from the American Historical Theatre, sings as General Tom Thumb, portraying the most popular Barnum attraction with verve, then concluding with Thumb’s signature heel click. Barnum collected and marketed people considered freaks and oddities, like George Washington’s 161 year-old nurse and the Feejee Mermaid, but he also promoted Jenny Lind, which he felt brought him class. Quite the colorful character in his own right, Hartley’s Barnum shows you a man who knew the value of his own personality. His self-published autobiography enjoyed sales second only to the Bible in North America during the 19th century.

Will you need a special accommodation (including food allergy if applicable to the program)? If so, please contact the library and provide at least two weeks notice prior to the event date and the library will make every effort to honor all requests. Thereafter, requests will still be considered and may have less of a chance of being honored.

Manville branch

manville@sclibnj.org
Phone: 908-458-8425
Branch manager
Nan Peterson

Hours
We're closed Monday February 17
Mon, Feb 17 Closed
(Presidents Day)
Tue, Feb 18 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Feb 19 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Feb 20 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Feb 21 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Feb 22 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Feb 23 Closed

About this branch

Upcoming events

Tue, Feb 18, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area
This event is full

Tue, Feb 18, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Adult Media Area

Tue, Feb 18, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Adult Media Area
This event is full

Wed, Feb 19, 10:30am - 12:30pm
History Room

Wed, Feb 19, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Adult Media Area
This event is full

Wed, Feb 19, 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Community Room

Wed, Feb 19, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Adult Media Area

Thu, Feb 20, 10:00am - 10:30am
Community Room

Thu, Feb 20, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
History Room

Thu, Feb 20, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Children's Area

Thu, Feb 20, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Children's Area

Thu, Feb 20, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Fri, Feb 21, 10:00am - 10:45am
Community Room

Sat, Feb 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Feb 24, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Community Room

Mon, Feb 24, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Feb 25, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Feb 25, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Feb 26, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
History Room
This event is full

Wed, Feb 26, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room
This event is full

Thu, Feb 27, 10:00am - 10:30am
Community Room

Thu, Feb 27, 11:00am - 1:00pm
History Room
This event is full

Thu, Feb 27, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
History Room

Thu, Feb 27, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Children's Area

Thu, Feb 27, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Community Room
This event is full

Thu, Feb 27, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Fri, Feb 28, 10:00am - 10:45am
Community Room

Sat, Feb 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Mar 02, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Adult Media Area
This event is full

Tue, Mar 03, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Mar 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm
History Room

Wed, Mar 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Thu, Mar 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
Community Room

Thu, Mar 05, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
History Room

Thu, Mar 05, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Quiet Room

Thu, Mar 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Fri, Mar 06, 10:00am - 10:45am
Community Room

Fri, Mar 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Sat, Mar 07, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Mar 09, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Community Room

Mon, Mar 09, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Adult Media Area

Tue, Mar 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
YA area

Tue, Mar 10, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Adult Media Area

Tue, Mar 10, 5:00pm - 5:45pm
Children's Area

Wed, Mar 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Community Room

Canceled
Wed, Mar 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Wed, Mar 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Community Room

Thu, Mar 12, 10:00am - 10:30am
Community Room

Thu, Mar 12, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
History Room

Thu, Mar 12, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Children's Area

Thu, Mar 12, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Children's Area

Thu, Mar 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
History Room

Thu, Mar 12, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Community Room

Fri, Mar 13, 10:00am - 10:45am
Community Room

Fri, Mar 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Sat, Mar 14, 11:00am - 4:00pm
YA area

Sat, Mar 14, 11:00am - 11:30am
Children's Area

Mon, Mar 16, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Mar 16, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Adult Media Area
This event is full

Tue, Mar 17, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Adult Media Area

Tue, Mar 17, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Adult Media Area
This event is full

Wed, Mar 18, 10:30am - 12:30pm
History Room

Wed, Mar 18, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Adult Media Area
This event is full

Wed, Mar 18, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Mar 18, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
History Room