close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Evening Book Discussion

"The Personal Librarian" by Marie Benedict

2022-10-10 18:00:00 2022-10-10 19:00:00 America/New_York Evening Book Discussion "The Personal Librarian" by Marie Benedict. Presented by Manville branch library assistant Melissa Skrabal. Manville branch - Adult Media Area

Monday, October 10
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2022-10-10 18:00:00 2022-10-10 19:00:00 America/New_York Evening Book Discussion "The Personal Librarian" by Marie Benedict. Presented by Manville branch library assistant Melissa Skrabal. Manville branch - Adult Media Area

Manville branch

Adult Media Area

"The Personal Librarian" by Marie Benedict. Presented by Manville branch library assistant Melissa Skrabal.

"The remarkable, little-known story of Belle da Costa Greene, J. P. Morgan's personal librarian-who became one of the most powerful women in New York despite the dangerous secret she kept in order to make her dreams come true, from New York Times bestselling author Marie Benedict and acclaimed author Victoria Christopher Murray. In her twenties, Belle da Costa Greene is hired by J. Pierpont Morgan to curate a collection of rare manuscripts, books, and artwork for his newly built Morgan Library. Belle becomes a fixture on the New York society scene and one of the most powerful people in the art and book world, known for her impeccable taste and shrewd negotiating for critical works as she helps build a world-class collection. But Belle has a secret, one she must protect at all costs. She was born not Belle da Costa Greene but Belle Marion Greener. She is the daughter of Richard Greener, the first Black graduate of Harvard and well-known advocate for equality. Belle's complexion isn't dark because of her alleged Portuguese heritage that lets her pass as white-her complexion is dark because she is African American. The Personal Librarian tells the story of an extraordinary woman, famous for her intellect, style, and wit, and shares the lengths she must go-for the protection of her family and her legacy-to preserve her carefully crafted white identity in the racist world in which she lives"-- Provided by publisher.

AGE GROUP: | Adult |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Discussion |

TAGS: | |

Manville branch

manville@sclibnj.org
Phone: 908-458-8425
Branch manager
Nan Peterson

Hours
Mon, Dec 05 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Dec 06 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Dec 07 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Dec 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Dec 09 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Dec 10 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Dec 11 Closed

Upcoming events

Wed, Dec 07, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Dec 07, 4:30pm - 5:15pm
Community Room
Registration is now closed

Thu, Dec 08, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Sat, Dec 10, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Children's Area

Mon, Dec 12, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Mon, Dec 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Adult Media Area

Tue, Dec 13, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Wed, Dec 14, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Dec 14, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Children's Area

Wed, Dec 14, 3:30pm - 4:15pm

Thu, Dec 15, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Sat, Dec 17, 10:30am - 12:30pm
History Room

Sat, Dec 17, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Children's Area

Mon, Dec 19, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Mon, Dec 19, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Community Room

Mon, Dec 19, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Children's Area

Tue, Dec 20, 3:30pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Dec 21, 10:30am - 12:30pm
History Room

Wed, Dec 21, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Children's Area

Wed, Dec 21, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Dec 21, 3:30pm - 4:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Dec 21, 5:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Thu, Dec 22, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Mon, Dec 26, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Tue, Dec 27, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Community Room

Wed, Dec 28, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Wed, Dec 28, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Adult Media Area

Thu, Dec 29, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Mon, Jan 02, 11:00am - 11:30am
Community Room

Wed, Jan 04, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Adult Media Area

Thu, Jan 05, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Community Room

Thu, Jan 05, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Quiet Room