Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

All Men are Created Equal Except…

Commissary Notes: A glimpse into General Washington’s Camp

2024-02-22 18:00:00 2024-02-22 19:00:00 America/New_York All Men are Created Equal Except… Leslie C. Bramwell, a historical interpreter, will portray Hannah Till, a slave who bought her freedom while she was serving as a cook to George Washington during the Revolutionary War. Montgomery branch - Library Meeting Room

Thursday, February 22
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-02-22 18:00:00 2024-02-22 19:00:00 America/New_York All Men are Created Equal Except… Leslie C. Bramwell, a historical interpreter, will portray Hannah Till, a slave who bought her freedom while she was serving as a cook to George Washington during the Revolutionary War. Montgomery branch - Library Meeting Room

Montgomery branch

Library Meeting Room

Leslie C. Bramwell, a historical interpreter, will portray Hannah Till, a slave who bought her freedom while she was serving as a cook to George Washington during the Revolutionary War.

In honor of Black History Month the Van Harlingen Historical Society and the Somerset County Library System is proud to host this unique program where Leslie Bramwell will give a first person account of Hannah Till's life and George Washington's camp during the Revolutionary War. Hannah Till served as George Washington's cook during the seven years of the American revolution (except for six months when she was loaned to the Marquis de Lafayette); in 1778 she was able to purchase her freedom.

AGE GROUP: | Adult |

EVENT TYPE: | Live Performance | Lecture |

TAGS: | Black History Month |

Montgomery branch

montgomery@sclibnj.org
Phone: 908-458-8430

Hours
We're closed Sunday May 26 due to Memorial Day Weekend
Mon, May 20 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, May 21 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, May 22 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, May 23 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, May 24 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 25 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, May 26 Closed
(Memorial Day Weekend)

Upcoming events

Tue, May 21, 10:00am - 11:00am
Library Meeting Room
Registration is now closed

Wed, May 22, 5:00pm - 5:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, May 22, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Library Meeting Room,Digital Preservation Lab
This event is full

Thu, May 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Conference Room

Thu, May 23, 5:00pm - 5:30pm

Thu, May 23, 5:30pm - 6:00pm

Thu, May 23, 6:00pm - 6:30pm

Thu, May 23, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, May 28, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Library Meeting Room
This event is full

Sat, Jun 01, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Mon, Jun 03, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, Jun 05, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Conference Room,Digital Preservation Lab

Thu, Jun 06, 10:30am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 11, 10:00am - 11:00am
Conference Room

Tue, Jun 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Library Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 12, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Digital Preservation Lab,Library Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Conference Room

Thu, Jun 13, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Library Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 14, 10:30am - 11:15am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, May 24 2024 at 10:00am